Business updates

MCCI Immediate Past President elected on CBC Board

MCCI Immediate Past President elected on CBC Board

Regional Cooperation 03 May 2024


Caption from left to right : Dr Amany Asfour, Past President of CBC, Her Excellency Ms. Chileshe Kapwepwe, Secretary General of COMESA, Mrs. Namita Jagarnath Hardowar, CBC Board Member and IPP of the MCCI, Mrs Munkeni Kiekie Eliane from the Federation des entreprises du Congo

MCCI's Immediate Past President (IPP), Mrs. Namita Jagarnath Hardowar, has been elected to the Board of Directors of the COMESA Business Council (CBC) for the term 2024-2026. Mrs. Jagarnath Hardowar's appointment marks a significant milestone as she becomes the first Mauritian woman to serve on the CBC Board.

The new CBC Board was elected during the 11th Annual General Meeting, held at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Lusaka, Zambia. Mr. James Chimwaza from the Malawi Confederation of Chambers of Commerce and Industry (MCCCI) was elected as the new CBC Board President, with Mr. Mucai Kunyiha from the Kenya Association of Manufacturers (KAM) as the 1st Vice President, Dr. Sherif El Gabaly from the Federation of Egyptian Industries (FEI) as the 2nd Vice President, and Mrs. Munkeni Kiekie Eliane from the Federation Des Entreprises Du Congo (FEC) as the 3rd Vice President.

Mr. Marday Venkatasamy, Past President of the MCCI, and Chairperson of the CBC since 2018, will now serve as the Immediate Past President (IPP) on the CBC Board, ensuring continuity and providing guidance to the new leadership.

Other members of the CBC Board include Engineer Melaku Ezezew from the Ethiopian Chamber of Commerce and Sectoral Association, Mr. Issa Sekitto from the Private Sector Foundation Uganda, and Dr. Tinashe Manzungu from the Zimbabwe National Chamber of Commerce.

The MCCI congratulates all the newly elected CBC Board members and looks forward to collaborating with the CBC to foster sustainable economic development and strengthen business ties within the COMESA region.